top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

Honor. Dignity. Respect.

If there is one thing that I learn from my job is that you should always... and I mean ALWAYS treat everyone with honor, dignity, and respect (to the best of your imperfect ability that is). And I have to say that I am quite surprised when I come in contact with people who do just the opposite.

Now, let me preface this by saying that these thoughts I am having are in no way generalizing customers... however, I am sometimes caught off guard by how rude and demanding some people can be.

My thoughts on this are as follows.

1) We're all imperfect humans, and we all make mistakes, daily. Sometimes hourly. So I don't think that it is fair to be rude to someone just for making a mistake. That does not give you the right to talk down to them or to berate them, especially in front of other people.

2) People who work in the customer service industry (whether you work at a fast food restaurant, a department store, or wherever...) in general put up with a lot. We cater to the needs of others. Not all jobs require that. And those that continue to work in the customer service industry, BY CHOICE, have an amazing amount of patience.

3) When it comes to my job, we are always talking about how everyone "has a story". We try to keep in mind that we don't know what went on in their day. We don't know if they have just gone through some terrible tragedy, and are simply hungry, and need to get in and get out. But this goes both ways. It hurts me at times when people are all "woe is me", and "what a horrible, hard life I have". Yes, it may be hard. It may try your patience. It may wear you down. But my life can be just as hard...

4) My goal is to be sure that I give 100% to each and every person I meet. Now, does that always happen? No - see thought # 1. But I want to. The genuine desire is there. I want to treat you as if you are my best friend, that I've known for years! But you have to give me that opportunity. Sometimes it gets overwhelming when people constantly shut down my kindness. It makes me question why I even bother.

These are just a few of the thoughts that I was having this afternoon. Nothing in particular sparked it. In fact, it was a relatively good day at work. But it's just been something that's been on my mind. I'm sure there are others, but my brain is too tired to think harder. I've been up for about 20 hours, and I still have a couple of hours of homework to do... *sigh*...

Have a wonderful night!

bottom of page